Josephine Stephenson (b. 1990) is a Franco-British musician based in London, UK.

"Music to arrest the ears and stop the heart" (The Times)               

Josephine has written music for ensembles and soloists including The Hermes Experiment, the Ensemble Miroirs Étendus, Explore Ensemble, The Erebus Ensemble, the Britten-Pears Contemporary Ensemble, Outcry Ensemble, the Van Kuijk Quartet, the Maîtrise de Radio France, gambist Liam Byrne, violist Stephen Upshaw, and violinists Fiona Monbet and Eloisa-Fleur Thom. Her music has been commissioned by the BBC, Radio France, the London Sinfonietta, Spitalfields Music, l'ARCAL, Nonclassical, Bristol Proms, Dulwich Picture Gallery, National Portrait Gallery and Miroirs Étendus. It has been broadcast on France Musique, BBC Radio 3 and 6 Music, Resonance FM, and appeared on television channels BBC Two and Four.

She has collaborated with theatre companies L'Éventuel Hérisson Bleu (for the 2016 opera Les Constellations - une théorie, produced by Miroirs Étendus and Lille Opera) and FellSwoop Theatre (Ghost Opera in 2015, supported by the Festival d'Art Lyrique d'Aix-en-Provence, Aldeburgh Festival and LOD festival). She also makes music for films (including Julia Hart's Emma, Change the Locks, winner of 'Best Composer' at Underwire Festival 2015) and has worked as assistant for film composers Dario Marianelli and Benjamin Wallfisch. 

She regularly works as an arranger for songwriters and bands (Daughter, Evergreen, Night Works, NZCA LINES, Shock Machine, James Canty) as well as for projects from the Berlin-based ensemble s t a r g a z e (David Bowie Prom 2016, concerts with Lisa Hannigan 2018). 

She is one of 3 artistic directors of Listenpony, a London-based concert series and record label which mixes contemporary classical music with traditional classical music and popular styles.

Josephine studied music at Clare College, Cambridge, studying composition with Giles Swayne, before completing a Masters in Composition at the Royal College of Music under Kenneth Hesketh, graduating with Distinction in 2014. She was a Britten-Pears Young Artist in 2015/16 and is currently part of the London Sinfonietta's 'Writing the Future' scheme.